The Seychelles

The Seychelles, officially The Republic of Seychelles, is an archipelago in the Indian Ocean consisting of 118 islands. The official language is French, English and Seychellois Creole. Seychellois Creole is spoken by the majority of the citizens and is based on French. The main languages are thus French and Creole, however English is a great part of the language since the colonial times.

France and Great Britain where fighting about for power of Seychelles, and in 1814 the islands became a Brittish colony.
After indepence from Great Britain in 1976 there was a communist coup d’état, and Albert René, leader of SPPF, became a leader and a one party dictatorship was introduced.
1993 democracy was reintroduced, but René kept power. He was re-elected 2001 and SPPF won the election with 54.3% of the votes. René resigned from his position in 2004 and vice president James Michael succeeded him and was re-elected in 2006.

The country consists of 118 islands and 50 of these are called coral islands. The biggest one is Mahé where 85% of the citizens live.
The beaches are fine-grained with white sand that invites you to swim.

Climate & Environment
The climate is tropical and tempered by the sea. During the monsoon from May to September is a lot cooler, while the warmast period is from March to May. Severe storms are rare however dry seasons might occur.

The largest environmeral problem is the lack of fresh water, which is dependent on rainfall. Heavy rain rarely occurs.

The currency is Seychellois Rupee which currently equates:
– EUR 1 = SCR 15.

All electricity is produced from fossil fuels and the electric grid is based on the British Standard, and the voltage is 240 V AC.

If you want to know more?

Visit Lonely Planets Seychelles guide:
Lonely Planet – The Seychelles

Visit Vagabonds article about the Seyschelles:
Vagabond – “The outpost of your dreams” (Swedish)